... and ...

Læs anmeldelser


Arvo Pärt, Julia Wolfe, Caroline Shaw samt sange fra Laudario di Cortona.

"...deep popular roots medieval chants and the spiritual uplifting of Pärt's soaring music... this juxtaposition becomes fascinating." - Le Devoir

"This beautifully conceived recording opens with two works by Caroline Shaw and Julia Wolfe, interleaved with groups of sacred works by Arvo Pärt as well as six Laude from Cortona in Tuscany. The Laude, drawn from a 13th-century manuscript which was only discovered in the 19th century, are imaginatively arranged by Paul Hillier.

Sung with a huge expressive range, from rustic energy to rapt contemplation, the medieval works forge connections with the 21st-century compositions through shared keys, motives, textures and words. But there is plenty of variety, from the slow and contemplative, to the lilting and dancelike. This is outstanding programming."

BBC Music Magazine

  • Anmeldelse BBC Music Magazine

    Denne optagelse giver åndelig åbenbaring og lydlig velbehag fra start til slut.

    BBC Music Magazine
  • Review Chorzeit: Divine purity, clarity and steadfastness.

    Ars Nova Copenhagen lives up to its reputation as one of the world's leading vocal ensembles with "... and ...". The longing for divine purity, clarity and steadfastness, which can be directly experienced here, is timeless.

    Chorzeit - das Vokalmagazin
  • Anmeldelse Chorzeit: Guddommelig renhed, klarhed og standhaftighed.

    Ars Nova Copenhagen lever op til sit ry som et af verdens førende vokalensembler med "... og ...". Længslen efter guddommelig renhed, klarhed og standhaftighed, som man direkte kan opleve her, er tidløs.

    Chorzeit - das Vokalmagazin
  • En omfavnelse af velklang

    Albummet er fuld af lækker velsang og velklang med et Ars Nova Copenhagen i topform.

    Magasinet Klassisk
  • Delightful and quirky - Gramophone

    Ars Nova are, as usual, fully in command of both early and recent styles: this is a sparkling, thought-provoking recording of great originality.

  • Superbly executed

    The leaps between our own time and Umbria 700 years ago seem entirely natural in Hillier’s hands and the virtuosic vocalists of Ars Nova are completely inside the music. This is an uplifting disc,